Grace like rain

Have mercy on me O God

According to your unfailing love

According to your great compassion

Blot out my transgressions

Wash all my iniquity

and cleanse me from my sin

For I know my transgressions

and my sin is always before me

Against you, you only, have I sinned

and done what is evil in your sight

so you are right in your verdict

and justified when you judge.

-Psalm 51:1-4-

Have mercy on me, O God. For I am a sinner. A wretched woman, not worthy of forgiveness. I  have done what is evil in Your sight— such a detestable thing. My heart is wringing with pain knowing that I’ve hurt a person so much, but more importantly, for hurting you.

Through the mercy and grace of Your Son, Jesus Christ, who loved me and gave Himself up for me, I come to Your throne…humbly asking for forgiveness. I turn away from the sin which had eaten me up for a long time. I want to believe that Your wounds have healed me. And I am sorry, that You died for me, an unworthy sinner. You are God. The Holy God in the Heavens. Who am I? That You, the Most Holy God, reached down for me, a speck of dust, a worm. Who am I? To deserve such love? I am no one. But in Your eyes, I am precious. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. In Your eyes, I am worthy.

Such grace and mercy I do not deserve. What can I offer? I can only offer this broken heart. I surrender. Lord, take over my life. Apart from You, I can do nothing. Apart from You, I am worthless. Apart from You, I do not have hope.

May there not be a day which I would take for granted…Every day, I want to live for You. So help me, God.

This is my prayer, in the name of the Most Holy God and Savior, my Lord– Jesus Christ.

-Kath

Leave a Reply

